By 7 April 2015 | Categories: news


Any regular reader of TechSmart knows we cannot get ourselves enough Star Wars, which is why we're dizzy with excitement over the new digital HD release of the entire Star Wars saga come 10 April. As such, it should the perfect way to prep for the seventh instalment in the franchise, The Force Awakens, which is slated for cinema debut come 18 December this year. 

Lucasfilm, in conjunction with Walt Disney and 20th Century Fox are bringing all six Episodes to Star Wars fans in a few short days time, with the digital HD release made available globally through services like iTunes, Google Play and Xbox Video. The films can be purchased for download individually or as an entire Star Wars Digital Movie Collection, although pricing for both remains a mystery and will be dependent on service provider and region. 

Each of the six movies will come with additional bonus content, including interviews, commentary and behind-the scenes footage, all of which has been digitally remastered. The bonus digital content will also differ between retailers according to Lucasfilm, but some of the content fans can look forward to includes:

Star Wars: Episode I The Phantom Menace

Conversations: Doug Chiang Looks Back

Discoveries From Inside: Models & Miniatures

Legacy content includes “The Beginning”; The Podrace: Theatrical Edit; plus eight deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode II Attack of the Clones

Conversations: Sounds In Space

Discoveries From Inside: Costumes Revealed

Legacy content includes “From Puppets To Pixels: Digital Characters In Episode II”; State Of The Art: The Previsualization Of Episode II; and “Films Are Not Released, They Escape”; plus Episode II Visual Effects Breakdown Montage and six deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith

Conversations: The Star Wars That Almost Was

Discoveries From Inside: Hologram & Bloopers

Legacy content includes documentaries “Within A Minute: The Making Of Episode III”; The Journey Part 1; and The Journey Part 2; plus six deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode IV A New Hope (20th Century Fox)

Conversations: Creating A Universe

Discoveries From Inside: Weapons & The First Lightsaber

Legacy content includes “Anatomy Of A Dewback”; Star Wars Launch Trailer; plus eight deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode V The Empire Strikes Back 

Conversations: The Lost Interviews

Discoveries From Inside: Matte Paintings Unveiled

Legacy content includes “A Conversation With The Masters” (2010); “Dennis Muren: How Walkers Walk”; “George Lucas On Editing The Empire Strikes Back1979”; and “George Lucas On The Force: 2010”; plus six deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode VI Return of the Jedi

Conversations: The Effects

Discoveries From Inside: The Sounds Of Ben Burtt

Legacy content includes “Classic Creatures: Return Of The Jedi”; “Revenge Of The Jedi Teaser Trailer”; Return Of The Jedi Launch Trailer; “It Began TV Spot”; “Climactic Chapter TV Spot”; plus five deleted scenes.

Click on the launch video below, for more details on the Star Wars Digital Movie Collection. After that we'd advise giving the Force Awakens trailer another view.


Magazine Online is South Africa's leading magazine for tech product reviews, tech news, videos, tech specs and gadgets.
Start reading now >
Download latest issue

Have Your Say

What emerging technology holds the greatest potential?
Artificial Intelligence (51 votes)
Blockchain (15 votes)
Virtual Reality (6 votes)
High Performance Computing (6 votes)
Machine Learning (4 votes)
Nanotechnology (20 votes)
Computer vision (3 votes)
Edge computing (2 votes)
Autonomous vehicles (6 votes)