PREVIOUS ARTICLENEXT ARTICLE
NEWS
By 3 May 2019 | Categories: news

0

If you’re a bit concerned about the amount of data Google has on you, especially how it uses your location to track you, well you should be. It is possible to switch Location History on and off, but as The Verge points out, the search giant can still track you even if you have done so.

Google has now announced that it will implement new features to auto-delete private data. Users will be able to select to have data deleted after three or 18 months, with this functionality rolling out to Location History and Web & App Activity first in the near future. It is still possible to manually delete this data if you are concerned about it.

Currently, users are able to manage their Google activity by visiting Activity Controls. From there they are able to find out more about things such as their YouTube Search and Watch History; Voice & Audio Activity for all those “OK Google” voice commands; Device Information; Web & App Activity; and Location History.

This new auto delete ability has not shown up for our Google account information yet.  

USER COMMENTS

Read
Magazine Online
TechSmart.co.za is South Africa's leading magazine for tech product reviews, tech news, videos, tech specs and gadgets.
Start reading now >
Download latest issue

Have Your Say


What are your plans for the holiday season?
A beach, working on my suntan and relaxing (3 votes)
Working through my gaming backlog (0 votes)
Having a staycation and catching up with all the things that need to be done in my house or apartment (0 votes)
Travelling internationally (1 votes)
Spending time with friends and family (2 votes)
Holiday? What's that? I'm working throughout (4 votes)
Getting reacquainted with my bed, sleeping late and binging Netflix (2 votes)